The house was opened to the public in 1977 and was announced a cultural monument of national importance. It's a typical architectural example of a fortified house from the Revival era. The interior is representative of the times – unique frescoes and carved wooden ceilings, all done by Velian Ognev – artist from the Debar art movement. Ognev's paintings show townscapes of the biggest European cities. That way he was feeding his fellow citizens' imagination, boosting their desire to visit countries close and far.
House-museum „Neofit Rilski“
The birthplace of Neofit Rilski (1793–1881), founder of modern Bulgarian secular education and very first encyclopaedist of the country, is right next to the Holy Trinity church. The building is also knows as “Benina house” and was built in the 18-th century.
Today the museum showcases authentic materials from Neofit Rilski's long-lasting educational activities – including “Bulgarian grammar” from 1835, parts of Greek-Bulgarian dictionary and many valuable books from his personal library.
House-museum “Nikola Vaptsarov”
This is one of the first museums in the Pirin mountain region. It's located right on the central city square, close to the mayor's office. The museum is organized in the house where the poet lived after 1912. The exposition highlights the life of Nikola Vaptsarov (1909–1942), poet and revolutionary, who is among the most popular names in Bulgarian poetry of the ХХ-th century.
The collection of personal items follows his life from childhood to his tragic death, and the cabinet of his mother Elena, the living room and the guest room are also preserved.
Permanent exhibition of icons
This icon exhibition is one of the most interesting tourist sites in Bansko. It's in the Old Town, close to the Holy Trinity church and the monument of Paisius of Hilendar. The icons are set in the oldest surviving building in Bansko, built in 1749 and preserved in its authentic form. Now a cultural monument, the one-story building was once a ladies convent for two different monasteries.
Holy Trinity church
The temple complex “Holy Trinity” is undoubtedly one of the most sigfnificant historical and cultural landmarks of Bansko. As architecture, the church is a three-naved pseudobasilica and is one of the biggest in the country. The church was built in 1835 by local masons with the financial support of a wealthy merchant. The iconostasis and the frescoes on the columns and the ceiling are done by the Velian Ognev, while the icons were created by two famous artists of the Bansko icon school – Dimitar and Simeon Molerovi. The church is a tremendous example of synthesis between architectural spaces, woodcarving, frescoes and icons.